Skip to content

Fermented Popularity Contest

December 17, 2010

Have you read about my Urban Fermentation Project yet? I’m tackling a long list of fermented fare for the very first time, and I have company (lucky for me!). Be sure to subscribe if you haven’t already so you don’t miss out (you can subscribe by RSS or by email in the right-hand corner)!

If you’re already with me, or just joining up, or even if you’re just stopping by today, please take a moment to share your $.02: Vote for what I should tackle next in this project using the poll below, or leave me a comment with your top picks from the list instead. I am interested in your opinion! I like to keep things fresh around here :)

I plan to use a combination of ‘what’s on hand’ and the results from this poll to plan my fermented fare in the new year. So far, I’ve been strictly working with ‘what’s on hand,’ but most of the things remaining on the list call for at least one ingredient that I don’t normally keep on hand, so I’ll be heading to the store anyway, and might as well make things in order of preference.

So, my top picks are….

  • Apple Butter (this one sounds and looks yummy, and it’s different from the other things I have already tried. I’m imagining spreading it on a warm muffin, already slathered in regular butter…);
  • Hindu Lemonade (I need to get going on my goal of finding something to satisfy my soft spot for pop! This looks like it will have a little sweetness, a little fizz, and a little tartness – all the makings of a winner in my books);
  • Mustard (I love mustard, and I would love to make all my own condiments. I’m seeing myself dipping ham in homemade mustard, and making some killer homemade dressings over the winter…); and
  • Kimchi (Korean Sauerkraut – a more flavourful, spicy version of the familiar kraut I already made – because my kraut was the least satisfying of my fermentation experiments so far, and I feel I might be missing out).

I’ll start with the winner (especially if it’s a clear winner), and then work my way through the rest, though perhaps not four weeks in a row (I might end up having something on hand that will make it sensible to try something else instead – this is all getting done within the monthly budget!!). And since I mentioned the budget, stay tuned, because in the New Year, there will be some huge budget-related initiatives going on here!

So, let it be democracy of the Once Upon the Kitchen Counter readership!!

Be sure to leave me a comment below if you think a different item should be tops, and maybe I’ll bump it up too!! Although, in the end, it’s all getting done, it’s just a matter of time :)

I’m signing off now until the New Year – so I am wishing you a very merry, blessed Christmas, and all the best in 2011, which promises to be a year full of wonderful new (and always real) foodie adventures.

Thanks for reading!!

This post is submitted to Fight Back Friday , Monday Mania and Real Food Wednesday!

{Image Credit}

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 8:21 am

    Funny how nobody voted for Kimchi yet. :)

  2. December 17, 2010 9:39 am

    I have never tried the fermented mustard and I think it would be great spread on sourdough bread for sandwiches or added to a salad dressing. The latest popular one in our house is carrots sticks with dill and garlic.

  3. joyce permalink
    December 20, 2010 1:17 pm

    The Hindu Lemonade is super easy to make; I really liked it, but my kids didn’t get very excited about it and the whole purpose was for them to have a beverage to enjoy besides water. Are you using the recipe from Sarah, “The Healthy Home Economist?” That’s the recipe I used. She said that in Nourishing Traditions it is called “Punch.”
    I can’t locate my NT at the moment, must be hidden under all the Christmas mess, but I’d like to figure out what the least amount of sugar is that can be used in the recipe and still have it ferment. (I try really, really hard not to eat any sugar.) You can of course, add as much Stevia as you want after fermentation. I think I am going to add some POM to my next batch!

    • December 20, 2010 1:37 pm

      Hi Joyce,

      Oh my goodness. You have just opened my eyes to a whole section of NT that I never noticed before!! Thank you!! I looked up “punch” in there, and indeed in the description it is referred to as “Hindu Lemonade” – and I was going to get the recipe from Sarah’s site, but here it is too. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup of sugar (rapadura) but I would also be interested in how little could be used.

      Here I am searching out recipes for things like authentic fermented ginger beer, and it’s right in NT. Silly me!! I am going to have to AT LEAST add apple cider, Orangina and Raspberry drink to the list now :)

      Thanks again! Now going to dig around in MY Christmas mess for the things I am currently missing…. ;)

      Shannon

  4. December 20, 2010 4:08 pm

    Hindu Lemonade is on my list of fermented foods to tackle when I get my courage up, so I’d love to see you try it and give some helpful hints! :0)

Leave a Reply

