Skip to content

Fish Friday: Wild Salmon Packages

November 26, 2010

This post is submitted to Real Food Wednesday! Thanks for hosting, Kelly!

This salmon is packaged, but not by a factory – by you, instead! This is one of the easiest ways to prepare fish that I know of, and it has never failed. I started with sole, originally, but now I’ve used this method for lots of different types of fish. I made it recently with salmon, and it turned out so well I had to share it.

As an added bonus, good quality seafood was considered an important food by many traditional peoples, who prized it for its nutrient density. For salmon, “quality” means that the fish is not grown in a farm, where the salmon are fed genetically modified corn and soy (since when should fish be eating those??!) and antibiotics (because this inappropriate diet makes them sick). I’d love to eat salmon more, but I’d rather save my salmon budget for the good quality stuff than eat the fake stuff more often.

Ingredients:

  • Fish portions (size and type are up to you – I usually just leave the skin on and take it off after cooking)
  • Parchment paper (don’t use wax paper…unless you’re into eating wax)
  • Assorted vegetables (whatever you have on hand – I used kale, green beans, and shiitake mushrooms)
  • Fresh herbs (I used dill and parsley – thyme works nicely with white fish)
  • Olive oil
  • Butter
  • Lemon (sliced thinly)
  • Water  (1-2 tbsp/package) (or a little white wine works nicely with white fish, if you have it)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I started with a large piece of frozen wild-caught Alaskan sockeye salmon this time. Check out the beautiful colour!! This was much more economical than buying it fresh. This much wild salmon would have been about $40-50 fresh at the fish counter, but it was just $20 frozen at the meat market, and I honestly do not feel that any taste was sacrificed in this case.

Cut your parchment paper into large squares, and lay each portion of fish on a piece of paper.

Create an assortment of chopped veggies and herbs from whatever you have on hand. I used kale, green beans, shiitake mushrooms, dill, and parsley this time. I usually always add onion and garlic too, but I forgot them this time and it didn’t matter. In the past I’ve used chopped broccoli, spinach, shredded carrots, other types of mushrooms, collard greens – you can pretty much use anything you want, but make sure you cut fairly small pieces. Toss the veggies in olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.

Place a portion of the veggie mix on top of each piece of fish, then add a pat of butter (I use LOTS of butter – because I am not afraid of good fats – and because butter makes everything taste better!), a few thin slices of lemon, and your water (or wine) to the package.

Next, fold the paper over the contents, and roll the sides to secure it all the way around. You want it to be sealed so your veggies steam from the moisture, and your fish cooks through. Secure the ends by twisting:

I made two packages like this- one for each of us. Bake at 350F for about 20 minutes. You can check them at 15 minutes depending on how thin the fish you’re using is, and if the fish doesn’t flake easily, just roll the package back up and keep baking a bit longer.

Be careful!! There will be a lot of steam in the packages if they are sealed well.

If you put a ton of veggies and lots of butter, this is a meal in itself. Since my portions were medium-sized, I served it with homemade potato leek soup (made with my own chicken stock, and leftover bacon fat from some yummy pastured nitrate-free bacon). Delicious!!

Happy Fish Friday!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 9:08 am

    It is so simple but sounds so delicious. I love wild salmon… it’s so healthy and organic :)
    Thanks for sharing :)

    • November 26, 2010 9:12 am

      You will enjoy this so much if you try it!! I can’t get enough, myself! :) Thanks for your comment.

      Shannon

  2. December 1, 2010 8:57 am

    Hi! I saw your link on Real Food Wednesday and clicked because my link also included some wild salmon. I laughed when I saw the big frozen salmon, because it is the same one I got on sale (great price!). I never thought about cooking it like this, but it looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing!

    • December 1, 2010 9:01 am

      Thanks Jackie! I’ll be heading over to check out your link later on! :) Wild Salmon is a perennial favourite around here. Thanks for stopping by!

      Shannon

  3. December 1, 2010 12:37 pm

    Oh that looks so delicious. Thank you for sharing you recipe and you have a great week.

  4. December 1, 2010 11:01 pm

    That’s a great idea to add all those herbs and veggies and butter! I’m going to make this soon, I haven’t had fish in parchment for quite a while. I was just reading a cookbook this week that reminded me of it, too. I really need to get more seafood in my diet.

    • December 3, 2010 11:21 am

      I hear you on that. I’m on a mission in the seafood department. I want to at LEAST have fish every Friday in our home, hopefully more often though. As today is Friday, I’m making this recipe with sole again, and a completely different veggie lineup – shredded carrots, leeks, bok choy, tomatoes, onion, garlic and thyme. Plus, of course, butter ;) It’s just so easy to throw together that I can’t resist!

Leave a Reply

