Skip to content

Orange Marmalade

November 16, 2010

I’ve loved orange marmalade since I was a kid. I love it on toast (already slathered in butter, of course!), and choose it over peanut butter or honey any day.

But store-bought marmalade is full of a wide range of nasties, including sugar and preservatives. Enter my Urban Fermentation Project. I found a recipe in Nourishing Traditions for Orange Marmalade and it jumped out at me very quickly.  I’m accustomed to thick, jelly-like marmalade, but the recipe warns that it will make a liquid style marmalade. Healthy, pro-biotic, vitamin-enhanced, enzyme-rich marmalade?? This one didn’t ask for open-mindedness on my part, even if the consistency wasn’t going to be gelatinous.

This brew was so easy to set up. I scrubbed four organic oranges, sliced them super thinly, then cut the slices in quarters, stuffed it all into a wide-mouth quart-sized (that’s a litre for my fellow Canadians!) mason jar, added 1/4 cup of liquid whey (with thanks to Sarah, the Healthy Home Economist for her helpful video tutorial on making whey), 1/4 cup of sucanat, and 1 tablespoon of sea salt.

I left it on the counter for four days. The recipe said three, but it was cold in our house, so I left it for four. It tastes really good! It’s certainly not the same taste as store-bought, but that’s no surprise – it’s a bit tangy, but there is a hint of both sweet and salty in it. I think I will try it on yogurt. It’s too liquid to put on toast. Any other ideas for how to enjoy it?

Experiment Wrap-Up:

Rating: Thumbs-Up

Simplicity: 2

(1 being “a monkey could do it”; 5 being challenging)

Notes on Taste: Slight fizz, sweet & salty, tangy, pleasant.

Questions/Hesitations: What to put this on? Plus, a litre of marmalade is a LOT – I’d consider making a much smaller jar in retrospect.

{Photo credit}


9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 1:01 pm

    What about using it as a frosting for homemade cakes for example? If it is liquidy than it will moist the layers up I think :)
    Other than this I guess using it on plain yougurt is great too, I put fresh blended fruit on mine but a fermented fruit will be even better!

    • November 24, 2010 1:05 pm

      Gosh, that is an excellent idea!! Or even on a homemade scone…my mum makes orange cranberry scones, and they are to die for…this could maybe be incorporated into the glaze somehow….thanks!! :)

      • November 24, 2010 1:08 pm

        I also figured out that if you put enough butter on a piece of toast, the marmalade won’t soak through :) I mean, LOTS of butter. Haha! Especially if you use less of the liquid and more of the actual orange pieces.

  2. December 17, 2010 5:15 pm

    Yum!!! I LOVE orange marmalade. I made a chicken dish with it that is just divine. Take chicken thighs, season with salt, pepper and garlic powder and brown them in coconut oil, ghee, lard, whatever. (I usually use boneless, sure the bone-in would work, just takes a little longer to cook) Sprinkle fresh rosemary over them (chopped) while cooking. Then remove from pan. Deglaze the pan with about 1/4c balsamic vinegar. Then, remove from heat, stir in the orange marmalade, throw the chicken back in and toss to coat. Prepare to swoon over each bite. I usually serve it with baked sweet potatoes and wilted chard with pancetta or bacon and tons of shaved garlic on the chard.

    • December 17, 2010 5:18 pm

      Oh my!! Thank you so much for this – I will definitely be giving this a try! So far I haven’t made anything savory with it, so this is great. Thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Shannon

  3. Kathryn permalink
    December 17, 2010 5:35 pm

    Amy, that chicken dish sounds divine! Am going to try it tomorrow night – I’ve already got my beans ready for tonight. :D

  4. December 17, 2010 6:01 pm

    Mix some chopped dried chilis into the marmalade and you have a wonderful dipping sauce — I like it for coconut crusted shrimp but would be great for plain shrimp, chicken skewers, etc.

    • December 17, 2010 6:04 pm

      Hi Marlyn,

      Wow…that sounds really good…wait till I tell my husband about it – he loves things very spicy! I am so excited to try all these new ways of using my marmalade. I still have a LOT in the jar!

      Thanks for stopping by,
      Shannon

  5. Lee permalink
    July 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    I’ll have to try this. I make fermented blueberry and raspberry sauces with a very similar process. They’re really good on shortbread. I’d suggest trying that with the orange too.

Leave a Reply

