Skip to content

Recipe Reinvention: Ginger Cake (NT Styles)

November 12, 2010

This post is submitted to Monday Mania, hosted by the Healthy Home Economist! Thanks for hosting, Sarah!

I love the taste of gingerbread and spiced cakes, especially when the weather turns cold. I wanted to make a ginger cake, and found an old handwritten recipe in my box, from some unknown source. I knew it would make a delicious cake, but it called for vegetable oil and white sugar, two of the nasties I try to avoid. So, I reinvented it Nourishing Traditions-styles, and I want to share it with you here. This recipe has fresh ginger and molasses in it, and if you used sprouted flour, you would really pack a lot of nutritional punch into this deeply delicious dessert.

Ingredients:

Fresh ginger (enough for 3 grated tablespoons)

1 cup unsulphered molasses

1 cup sucanat

1 cup expeller-pressed coconut oil (has no coconut flavour)

2.5 cups flour

1 tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 Tbsp aluminum-free baking powder

Method:

Preheat oven to 325F. Grate 3 Tbsp of fresh ginger, and add the molasses, sucanat, oil and 1 cup of water. Whisk rapidly until the mixture is smooth. Sift together the flour, spices, salt and baking powder, and add this to the bowl of wet ingredients. Mix to form a smooth batter. Mine was a tad gritty from the sucanat, but it turned out fine. Pour the batter into a 9″ round pan (not greased) and bake for ~30 min (or when a skewer comes out clean). Allow the cake to cool in the pan for 15-20 minutes, then turn it over, and you can either serve it chilled or slightly warm. I liked it slightly warm (impatience?), slathered with cream cheese icing. Yum.

I wish I had a picture – this was a pretty cake, but I completely forgot to snap it before it was devoured. It is extremely dark from the molasses, and tastes like a moist gingerbread cookie.

I’m planning to share lots more of my recipe reinventions here, and may even make it a weekly feature. Let me know if you try this recipe, or if you have any questions!! :)

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 4:55 pm

    The Ginger Cake sounds yummy! It is great to have another Canadian “Weston A. Price” Fan!
    Lorraine

    • November 15, 2010 5:22 pm

      Hi Lorraine! I love finding fellow Canadian WAPF’ers too! We are too few and far between! :)

      Shannon

Leave a Reply

