Skip to content

Grain-Free Cookies from Nourishing Traditions

November 11, 2010

This post is submitted as part of Fight Back Fridays at Food Renegade.

************************************************************************************************

I made the ginger snaps recipe from Nourishing Traditions a couple of nights ago (but I cheated a little). I have never made crispy nuts before (see my Real Food Journey Goals here), so I just used unsoaked almonds. I used Sucanat for the sweetener instead of Rapadura (which I believe is basically the same thing), and found I needed more water than what was called for to make the batter sticky enough to form into balls. Also, I was in a hurry and didn’t grab cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves individually – I used Allspice instead. I made my almond meal in my mini food processor, and it was quite coarse, and I liked the cookies with a coarse crumb.

 

 

We really enjoyed them! (Notice I have used the past tense – the two of us have eaten the whole batch (over 2 dozen!) for snacks and breakfasts over the past two days!) They are not too sweet, but enough to be a treat, and filling because of the almond base. They can be found on page 530 of Nourishing Traditions if you’re interested in trying them – I would recommend it!

I’m also a fan of Sally’s Macaroons on page 532. I’ve used her basic idea in that recipe to make my own Almond Macaroons too. Substitute 2 cups of almond flour for the coconut, and add a tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg in addition to the vanilla. You just fold in the almond flour to your whipped egg whites. I add extra arrowroot powder, too, in order to make the batter resemble the lightness of the coconut macaroons, but I don’t have a measurement for you. Make the coconut ones first to get familiar with the batter, and then try these, if you’re interested. The almond macaroons are as filling as the ginger snaps, but much lighter. For both the coconut and the almond macaroons, I recommend starting with the amount of maple syrup called for, and then slowly reducing this amount batch by batch. I’ve made the coconut ones with just a tablespoon of maple syrup, and with the natural sweetness of the (unsweetened) coconut, they are still a lovely treat/breakfast-to-go. For my almond version, I find I can’t reduce the sweetness of the recipe quite as much, but maybe you will have a different experience! If you try these, let me know how they turn out!

Idea: Has anyone ever tried heating up egg yolks ever so slightly on the stove instead of boiling the whole egg? I am giving Naomi (my 7 month old) an egg yolk every day from a soft-boiled egg (see post here), and just eating the white part myself. But if I were to separate the yolk from the white while raw, then I could save up the whites to make macaroons at the end of the week. Any thoughts out there?

Thanks for joining me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

