Skip to content

Fermented Cod Liver Oil for Naomi: An Update

November 8, 2010

Lately I haven’t been having success giving Naomi her FCLO, mostly because I had been giving it to her in a little expressed milk, and now, seven months into nursing, I am almost completely unable to express any milk at all. I tried mixing the cod liver oil into her daily egg yolk with liver, but it made her gag, and when I put it to my lips it made ME gag, and then I felt terrible at the thought of possibly ruining egg yolks for her, so I never tried that again. Seriously. I have to psych myself up before I take mine every day (and some days, I hate to admit, I put it off and then forget!!).

Well, now that I’m 90% there in terms of the ingredients necessary for the Nourishing Traditions meat-based baby formula, I’ve had an idea, and I would so love some feedback on this from anyone who has an opinion: why not make a batch of that formula (without the FCLO), and freeze it in the baby cubes I was given as a shower gift, and then add the FCLO fresh to the few ounces of the formula each day and feed it to Naomi via dropper (or bottle, if necessary)? I will be thinking about this over the next few days. It just dawned on me now. It could soften the taste for her while giving her some other good nutrients too. OK, goodnight for real this time :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 3:59 pm

    I know you posted this awhile but I just read it today. I’ve been giving my 10 mo. old FCLO since she was 6 mo. old and just used an eye dropper or syringe. I squoosh her cheeks together so she has to open her mouth and squirt it in the very back off of her tongue. I will admit, she gagged the first two times, but since then she does great. Sometimes I don’t have to squoosh her cheeks, but sometimes she fights a little bit. I felt bad at first since I get to take mine in OJ, but I know its good for her. Hope that helps!

    • January 3, 2011 5:29 pm

      Hi Alison,

      That is so helpful!! I may try that tomorrow. I guess our girls are only a month apart because mine is nine months tomorrow :) We have been on the road for the holidays, and I can’t wait to get back into eating properly at home, and re-focusing with food in general… Thanks for stopping by!

      Shannon

  2. Sue Schieman permalink
    March 30, 2011 10:49 pm

    Where do you get your FCLO? And does it really taste that bad? I have been giving my kids and us the Nordic flavoured kind, it’s not fermented but it is a good brand otherwise. I want to switch to FCLO but know it’s pricey and still want my kids (aged 3-12) to take it.

    • March 30, 2011 10:56 pm

      Hi Sue,

      I order it here (under Green Pasture products – just call them to place your order).

      http://www.familyherbalclinic.com/

      It comes in the mail from somewhere out west, and I order 3-4 bottles at a time so it lasts quite a while and I don’t pay for shipping very frequently. I order from them to avoid customs. I have heard that it can also sometimes be found at Mother Earth in Westboro, but I have never bought mine there.

      And for me personally, it does taste that bad :( Naomi takes hers without a problem, as does my husband, but ever since I was pregnant with her, the smell makes me gag. I have to really force myself to take it. Or, if I am not feeling up to it, I take capsules of mixed FCLO and Butter Oil which I keep on hand for traveling.

      Hope it helps!

      Shannon

      • Sue S. permalink
        August 18, 2011 11:54 pm

        I actually just got some FCLO and you’re right, it is AWFUL! I don’t understand how people can describe it as “delicious”. I have to psyche myself up to take it also, but my kids seem to take it without much hassle even though it tastes bad. I may look into the capsules and I have heard the one mixed with butter oil is bit more palatable but I can’t see that it would make a huge difference. How is Naomi doing now with her FCLO?

      • August 22, 2011 7:33 pm

        She does well with it at this point. I’m wary that that could change, though. I’d like to get a couple of the “kid-friendly” new flavours to try out, but we’re waiting until we use up what we already have. I want her to not just tolerate it, but look forward to it (I know, lofty idea!!) :) We give her a lump of raw coconut oil first, to coat the mouth a little. She loves the coconut oil, and opens wide for the FCLO afterwards. But sometimes it catches her the wrong way and she gags/chokes a little! So, hopefully the new flavours are tastier. We shall see!! What flavour do you use? Right now we have Oslo Orange.

Leave a Reply

