Skip to content

The Sacred Foods

October 23, 2010

I got my Fall 2010 edition of Wise Traditions in the mail today, and I am so excited I can hardly even read it. I just keep flipping around reading tidbits, knowing that tomorrow or the next day, as time allows, I will sit down with a warm cuppa and devour it in order. Since I haven’t been very active in my kitchen the past couple of weeks (due to an extensive renovation), I haven’t had much to post about in terms of experimentation, but I am excited to get back into it this week, full-steam ahead!

The article I am most excited about in this issue is in the “Growing Wise Kids” feature, and its title is “Sacred Foods for Exceptionally Healthy Babies…and Parents, too! Rediscovering Ways to Enjoy Ancient Traditional Wisdom.” The full text can be had here. The side-bar on the first page states that “without fat-soluble activator nutrients – namely vitamins A, D3, and K2 – our efforts to consume the “right” foods will be futile.” I know this, as it is emphasized so much in all the Weston Price literature, but it definitely bears repeating. I like being reminded of the basics, because it’s easy to get a bit lost in terms of focus when it comes to all this stuff.

A diet rich in sacred foods is really the key to vibrant health. And it’s vibrant health we are after in this journey – this is something that goes well beyond just “health” (AKA the absence of disease and a general feeling of wellness).

The article discusses the sacred foods we know of very well in a traditional foods diet: raw dairy products from cows raised on pasture, cod liver oil (the REAL stuff (available in Canada here), not the processed stuff), and egg yolks from pastured hens (see my earlier post with the visible difference in yolk colour!). But this is where I get excited. Here are the sacred foods the article discusses that are less-known, and I cannot wait to start exploring ways to incorporate them into my family’s diet:

  • “Small fish”: includes things like sardines (which I already eat and have pretty much always loved), anchovies and whitebait, both fresh and dried
  • Fish roe (I have some salmon roe in my freezer right now, and I knew it was a good thing, but had NO idea just how good! It’s expensive though – $18 for a tiny jar!!)
  • Liver (I know about this one, but have not yet mastered cooking it. I have about six pounds of grass-fed beef liver in my freezer, as well as the livers of 30 pastured chickens, so I need to get cracking on this one! No more excuses!)
  • Bone Marrow – this is completely foreign to me, but I will be delving into it now with enthusiasm!

It gets even better. At the end of this article there is a recipe section to help with incorporating these foods into one’s diet. I will be bookmarking that page, and plan to review my experiments/attempts here. And I will do so with characteristic picky-ness. As I have mentioned before, I need my food to taste delicious. No funky flavours for me. I even find grass-fed beef a tad funky at times (I never eat it in steak form, but find it delicious as a roast or in a stew). So you can be sure I will not say something is yummy if it’s odd in any way. Maybe in time my tastes will change, but it wasn’t too long ago that I could not have told you why grass-fed beef is a must, and “organic” beef is rather pointless.

This information on sacred foods  makes me cringe at the mainstream dietary recommendation to stick to lean muscle meats like chicken breasts, etc. These foods taste like nothing, and have little to offer us (at least in comparison to other things). While it takes some adjustment to acquire a taste for some of the things considered sacred foods (and less of an adjustment for other things…hello full-fat jersey milk! We call you 33% in our house, because the cream line is about a third of the way down the jar…sweet creamy deliciousness – what a treat!!), I hope I can come to view as many of the other sacred foods as possible with the same vigour as I do my raw milk.

Now off to continue flipping through my Fall 2010 issue!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

