Skip to content

Fishy Experiment #2

September 30, 2010

Well, I made fish stock for the first time. I used two red snappers (well, everything but the actual filets!). The stock still stunk up the house, even with the hood fan on full blast, but luckily we just opened all the windows and it was fine. I would not recommend making it in the winter, personally. I can’t imagine what my house might still smell like today with all the windows and doors shut tightly against winter drafts!

It has a mild taste, but apparently is very good for health. I learned in my online cooking class that when you use the fish heads, you get a great source of iodine, which supports thyroid health. There were two heads in my broth. I simmered it for about 5 hours. Then I scrubbed the kitchen (including the stock pot), lit a few mildly scented candles, and put the gross solids from the pot out to the curb (what luck that it was garbage night…something others may want to consider when attempting fish stock!).

Can’t wait to make some fish soups and stews now!!!

I want to try a few recipes over the next while that use this stock, so tomorrow I’ll be freezing it into a few batches.

In other kitchen counter news: today we actually went shopping for….kitchen counters. We are in the midst of a mini-reno of our kitchen. I will be sure to post before and after pictures when all is said and done!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

