Skip to content

Jersey (Raw) Milk!

September 24, 2010

Well, the big news around here today is that we found a raw milk supplier who has only purebred Jerseys on his farm! The kicker: he delivers to our city, so we don’t even have to waste all that fuel going out to the farm every couple of weeks, and, the delivery is every week!! In the past, the best we’ve done is holstein raw milk, fresh runs every two weeks. The price per litre is slightly higher, but the share price is less. Can’t wait to taste the sweet unadulterated milkiness next Sunday!! I’ll post the full report once I do. Yippee!!

I’m pleased to have found this supplier after watching Sarah, the Healthy Home Economist’s very helpful video on the difference between cow breeds in terms of the health of the milk. I had no idea about this before watching her video!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 3:58 am

    we’re so lucky to have a raw Jersey milk supplier a couple of miles away. I also get my organic eggs, seasonal veg and some meat from them. The cream is just like I remember from my childhood, when I milked our cows and we drank it just as it was, nothing added or taken away (except the hayseeds and the odd bit of grass)

    x x x

    • April 2, 2011 10:48 pm

      I can’t believe the difference between the Jersey milk and the Holstein milk I used to get in the past. It’s remarkable! The cream is heaven!!

Leave a Reply

