Skip to content

Fishy Experiment #1

September 23, 2010

One of the things on my list of things to do this Fall is to cook more fish for our family. Today I paid a visit to my local fishery to see about fish carcasses for fish broth. I bought some wild sole to make Sole en Papillote today, and it’s currently in the oven for a late lunch. I used minced broccoli florets, carrot, garlic, onion, thyme, olive oil, lemon and butter as the extras within the parchment paper. It was really easy to put together, so I hope it tastes good! The fresh wild sole was on sale, but it was still expensive  – almost $15 for one pound! Normally I buy large bags of frozen wild caught sole at Costco. But, I’m out of that right now, and I must say that it is a very wasteful way to keep fish on hand, as each tiny piece is individually plastic-wrapped within the bag. So I splurged on this sole today.

I was given some fish parts at the fish counter for my stock I wanted to make, but when I got it home I realized that it wouldn’t do. The parts had been in the same bucket as some salmon parts, and had a distinctly smoky scent. Who knows how much of the salmon juices were in contact with my fish parts? I don’t want to make my whole house reek, which is what happens if you try to make fish stock from an oily fish such as salmon.

However, the trip was not a waste as far as fish stock goes. I saw that they sell whole snappers there for $10/pound. You can get them cleaned, so I will do that and ask to keep the parts, including the heads, next time I go. I really want to try Sally Fallon’s Creole Fish Soup from Nourishing Traditions. So, I need to make fish stock to get there. I was a little dismayed that they sell the parts for $1/pound instead of just giving them away for free.

I didn’t see any sushi-grade fish at the counter today, but I did see fresh oysters and mussels. So, next time, I will get a sampling of each, and maybe that will be Fishy Experiment #2!!

Leave a Reply

