Skip to content

Once Upon the Kitchen Counter Goes Local!

March 30, 2011

When I started this blog, owing to my general dis-ease with electronic over-sharing (I am one of the only people I know who does not, and has never had, a facebook account), I decidedly kept personally identifying information to a minimum. Thus, I’ve never actually declared where it is that I live. Today, however, I share with you my city of residence. I’ve decided that part of my blog’s purpose in the future will be to offer an index of resources and sources for local readers. This is because it can take years to figure out where to source good food and good farms, and I would like to share my homework in that department in the hopes that others may then have less homework to do, and more time to spend on other things.

Drum-roll, please….I am a proud resident of my nation’s capital – Ottawa. Ottawa boasts so many lovely things to see and do, but to me, one of the greatest beauties of Ottawa is its amazing proximity to an array of fantastic farms. I live in an urban condo, but within minutes, I can obtain fresh milk, eggs, meats and produce from local farmers. Don’t hate me! :)

So, if you’re from around these parts, stay tuned for a new “resources” page I am currently working on. If not, never fear. My regular posts will continue once that page is up and running in the near future, and in the meantime too. It will take some work to get things set up.

To whet the appetite of my local readers, I offer you a link one of my very favourite farms. I hear they may still have a few sides of Pork left to be had this Spring – so get yours ordered soon. A side of pork will take up about as much space in your freezer as 2 coleman coolers. If you don’t have that much space, split a side with a friend or family member! This is heritage breed, certified organic, pastured pork – the best of the best – and it is TASTY. When I posted a while back about a honey-garlic brined pork roast (here), which was completely amazing, it was from this farm. You can also order many other things from them, so be sure to browse the site, place an order, and support a wonderful family-run local farm.

In the next week or so, I will share my family’s cutting instructions for the side of pork we’ve ordered (yes, when you order a side of pork, you choose how it is cut according to your own tastes and preferences!).

Disclosure: I have no financial affiliation with Funny Duck Farms , and receive no compensation for recommending their products. I am just a very satisfied customer, letting you in on a very excellent food source :)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue Schieman permalink
    March 30, 2011 10:29 pm

    I am in Ottawa too! Orleans actually. I have been following your blog for a few months and appreciated that you were Canadian. I tried lacto-fermented garlic after you suggested it, it is amazing! Thanks!

    • March 30, 2011 10:32 pm

      Hi Sue!

      I’m glad you found me! I’m excited to being sharing more of what I’ve found in the area. Thanks for subscribing,

      Shannon

  2. April 2, 2011 4:00 am

    I just added you to my blogroll. x x x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

